My Narrative on GE2011: Grits, Guts and Gumption

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Life

I’ve never been interested in writing about local politics. In fact, I shy away from the topic because in the course of Singapore politics, sadly, the sword is often mightier than the pen! Many countless examples from JB Jeyaretnam to Chee Soon Juan are illustrative that wielding mere words alone cannot fight the ruling party.

However, this time is different! For one, I don’t feel that writing my narrative is going to be a lost cause! In the age of social media where my seemingly inconsequential voice can reverberate throughout, even to the remotest corners of the digital world, I know the Singapore GE 2011 is going to be different! This is how I want my narrative to be like:

I want leaders who have GRIT; who doggedly work their way up without riding on the crest wave created by another! I want leaders who are willing to toil and sweat – ploughing the ground 24/7 with endurance, sowing the seeds of entitlement to represent us and finally reaping the sweet harvest of endorsement from the masses!

Sadly, the protagonists have failed to exhibit this trait of GRIT. Where LKY and his compatriots have gained my respect for their hard work in their 60s and 70s, the majority of their successors have just enjoyed the spoils and not worked the ground at all!

I want leaders who have GUTS; who courageously admit to their shortcomings – where they’ve blown it, fallen short and failed in their duties! I want leaders who are not afraid to acknowledge their mistakes rather than avert them; who dare to say “I’m sorry! I’ve not measured up to the responsibility befitting of a ministerial post!” rather than dismiss them and say “Let’s move on! It’s water under the bridge!”.

Sadly, LKY has not emulated this trait of GUTS for his successors to follow! With due respect to the old man and all that he’s done for Singapore, here’s one where he has not gotten it right! He’s still residing in his ivory tower of self-righteousness, self-servingness and self-misappropriation and not touching base with the majority of his minions who desire to see humility , human-ness and humane qualities in their leaders!

I want leaders who have GUMPTION; who are prepared to risk electoral results and not change the goal posts in every election to suit their whim and fancy and make a mockery of our country’s election!!! I want leaders who are prepared to fight the good fight with their worthy opponents and not cower in fear and remain covert in the re-drawing of boundaries, the changing of GRC membership from 3 to 4 to 5 and then 6 and the increasing registration fees from $1500 to a whopping $16000 per person to get your name on the nomination roll!

Sadly, at present, Singapore doesn’t have leaders with GUMPTION! We have leaders who issue out threats, threats and more threats to get voted; leaders who don’t fight the fair fight with the oft re-shuffling of electoral rules and leaders who are lacking in the moral authority to govern Singapore because the majority of us can’t vote due to the changing rules!!! The antagonists have manifested this trait – none so more significantly than Low Thia Khiang! I won’t be voting in Aljunied but I hope in all honesty that his GUMPTION pays off!!!

GE 2011 is going to be different! I believe my narrative is going to climax with a watershed moment in the history of Singapore election! And I want to be there when that happens!!!

~ penned 1 May 2011: 1301 ~

Leave a Reply

