The Day We Die……

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Life

Not only is Death a difficult topic to grapple with, it’s also one of the rites of passage that we don’t celebrate well!

Babies weal to herald their triumphant entry into the world. Graduates throw their mortar boards into the air to celebrate their well-earned transition into the working world. Couples solemnise their vows to commit their faith and fidelity in the new union. Mothers cry with joy as they bundle their new babe with them into a new role of motherhood. Proud parents stand in solidarity with their child on his first day at school.

But the day we die oft renders us as silent observers, with no ‘voice’ to speak or celebrate how we want to bridge the threshold –  from this world to the vast unknown beyond. Hence, I personally believe that it’s not too morbid to start planning our final passage on earth….

I would want to celebrate death with songs of happiness that I’m crossing over to the Promised Land bubbling with milk and honey than with hymns of solemnity and sobriety. I would like to celebrate my death with tears welling more from joy than sadness, that I’m crossing over to another universe that doesn’t succuumb to the limitations of the human body, where physical pain and human suffering cease to exist. I would want to celebrate death with remembrances of happy times shared with family and friends than miniscule moments of ‘failing to get along’, whose paths I’ve crossed without which my life wouldn’t be any richer. I would love to celebrate my death by recounting the many alien acts of kindness that have touched me, the myriad representations of love and beauty found in unexpected places and people, than myopically focusing only on people I love and events I know and understand.

The day we die…..is an eventuality that none of us can escape from. And like the many rites of passage that have marked our lives, Death should also be accorded one last round of celebration as we cross the threshold from the finite to the infinite,  from the mysteries and beauty of life on Earth to another realm of more hidden mysteries, more beautiful gems of truths, waiting to be discovered!

– penned 060911: 0835 –

Written, in loving memory of a great friend, Yoke Mui, who has crossed over on 040911. In so many ways she has touched me but I know she would want me to remember her for her zest for living, especially for good food!!

Leave a Reply

